Basic Child Support Obligation (BCSO) Schedule
Income Base: Net Income
Minimum Income Bracket:
Maximum Income Bracket:
More than Maximum Income:
Cost of living:
Subsequent Children: No. It is deviation factor
SSR/LI Adjustment Amt: Unknown
SSR/LI Adjustment Application: N/A
Threshold Income: N/A
Limitations: Not applied to shared/split custody
Min. Child Support Amt: $50 applies to all children, even if calculation results in less than $50
Limitations on Min. Amt: May be varied for good reason. Court may order payment under $50 for extended visitation
Material change in circumstances results in upward/downward swing of at least 15%
Citation: Alaska Stat. §25.20.010, §25.24.140(a)(3), §25.24.170(a)
Age of Majority: 18 years of age
Ends: Age of Majority unless the child is enrolled in high school and living in the home of a parent, guardian, or designee of the parent or guardian.
Duty to Provide College Support: Courts may not require either parent to pay for post-majority college support
Exception for Adults with Disabilities:
Criminal Penalties for Nonpayment3
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 11.51.120, Alaska Stat. § 12.55.035, Alaska Stat. § 12.55.135, Alaska Stat. § 12.55.125
Crime: Class A Misdemeanor, Class C Felony ($20,000 arrearage, or 24+ months w/ no payment. If the obligor has a previous conviction $5,000 arrearage, or 6+ months w/ no payment.)
maximum Penalty: 1 year, $10,000 fine, loss of recreational license, 5 years, $50,000 loss of recreational license
Interest and Arrears4
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 25.27.025The rate of interest imposed under AS 25.27.020 (a)(2)(B) shall be six percent a year or a lesser rate that is the maximum rate of interest permitted to be imposed under federal law.
Summary: 6% per annum, charged the end of the month the support was due and not paid
License Restrictions for failing to pay Child Support2
Citation: Alaska Stat. § 25.27.246 Alaska Stat. § 25.27.244
Type: Driver’s, Occupational Recreational,
Arrears Threshold: Four times monthly support amount
Reinstatement: Driver’s license statute allows for an administrative and judicial review over a 150-day period before suspension. Occupational statute issues a 150-day temporary license while the administrative and judicial review is being conducted.
Exception: If a licensee wishes to challenge being included on the list, the licensee shall submit to the agency a written request for review within 30 days after the notice.
Primary Physical Custody: when a child lives with one parent more than 70% of the year.Shared Physical Custody: when a child lives with each parent at least 30% of the year.
Divided Custody: when a parent has primary physical custody of one or more children of the relationship and the other parent has primary custody of one of more other children of the relationship and the parents don’t have shared physical custody of any of the children.
Hybrid Custody: when parents have primary physical custody of some children of the relationship and shared physical custody of the other children.
Name: Mr. Joe West
Title: Enforcement/Responding Manager
Phone Number: 907-269-6837
Address: 655 F Street, 550 W 7th Ave Suite 310, Anchorage AK 99501-6699
1Judicial Council of California, Review of Statewide Uniform Child Support Guideline, October 25, 2017